Archive

Archive for June 7, 2009

The Big Day Is Tomorrow

So heard from my lawyer’s paralegal tonight.  My 2006 W-2 shoudl suffice in identifying me.  I was worried because I needed to have my Social Security card.  Unfortunately could not find it.  I also good not find my my most recent tax returns & documentation.  They’re in the house somewhere, but with the divorce, foreclosure crap, & bankruptcy, things are in a bit of disarray.

So with the documentation filed (which has to be amended since my company name was misspelled) and the ability to identify myself, we are ready for our 341 hearing.  From what I can tell, this last anywhere from 5 minutes to an hour.  Both my soon-to-be ex-wife & I are nervous about this.  I’ve been told that we need to only answer yes/no, and look to our lawyer if we don’t know how to respond.

So tomorrow, I will dress in my best non-holey jeans and plain shirt, leave my watch in the car, and suck it up.    We’ve been told not to dress up at all & leave all jewelry & cell phones behind for the hearing.  Hopefully all goes well.

Once this is over, it should be 60 days until the discharge notice.  In the meantime, my friends are taking off to Destin for a their family vacation.  They were nice enough to invite me down with my youngest son.  So I am taking them up on the offer.  I feel like sitting around with my soon-to-be ex-wife listening about our new beginning will sicken me.  So, free vacation – hell yes.  

Will be interesting to see what happens tomorrow.  Think it’s time for a mai tai.

Categories: Bankruptcy, General